The 5 Principles of ChildKind

Five Principles of ChildKind

In order to obtain certification an applicant must demonstrate their institution exhibits the following five principles.


Principle 1

An institutional commitment to pain prevention, assessment, and treatment.

Principle 2

Ongoing education programs and awareness initiatives on pain for staff, trainees, patients and any of their caregivers.

Principle 3

Use of evidence-informed, developmentally appropriate processes for assessment of acute and chronic pain.

Principle 4

Specific evidence informed protocols for pain prevention and treatment including pharmacological, psychological, and physical methods.

Principle 5

Regular institutional self-monitoring within the framework of continuous quality improvement.